Qualifications

Postgraduate Diploma in Contemporary Therapeutic Counselling

Therapeutic Approach

Brief, Solution Focused, Psychodynamic, CBT (General)

Membership body

BACP

Years practicing

12 years

Issues worked with

Attachment issues, Bereavement, Childhood abuse, Cultural identity, Autism spectrum disorder, Body dysmorphic disorder (BDD), Bipolar Disorder, Personal growth/wellbeing, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse, Social anxiety, Insomnia, Loneliness, Schizophrenia, Stress, Suicidal thoughts, ADHD/ADD, Personality disorders, Refugees and displacement, Cancer, Domestic abuse, Emotional abuse, Fertility and pregnancy, Addiction, Anxiety (Worries, Fears, Panic), Bullying, Depression, Chronic or acute health conditions, Disordered eating, Anger, Parenting, Rape/sexual assault, Sexual identity, Sexual matters, Grief/Loss, PTSD, Phobias, Romantic Relationships, Confidence/Self-esteem, Self-harm, OCD, Trauma, Gender identity (incl. dysphoria), Identity issues, LGBTQ+, Adoption, Chronic pain, Drugs, Dyslexia, Gaming, Health anxiety, Mood instability, Psychosis, Physical health, Sexuality, Work-related issues, Complex Grief, Menopause, Not Assessed, Abuse (unspecified), Spirituality/Religion, Anxiety Disorder (GAD), Abortion, Academic Stress, Adjustment/Changes, Brain Fog, Burnout/Fatigue, Disassociation, Divorce, Dyscalculia, Dyspraxia, Emotional Expression, Financial concerns, Friendships, Illness in the family, Immigration, Learning difficulties (general), Leaving University, Low/Depressed Mood, Marriage, Miscarriage, Parental Alcohol/Drug Problems, Parental Separation/Divorce, Perfectionism, Post-Natal Depression (PND), Premenstrual Dysphoric Disorder (PMDD), Public Speaking/Performance Anxiety, Relationships with Academic Staff, Sleep Problems, University Pressures (non-academic).

Special interest areas

I am a fully qualified therapist with more than eleven years’ experience working in mental health. In my private practice I work with all age groups and couples. I also work with mental health charities for Young Adults. I am empathic with a good sense of humour and I can work flexibly according to your needs at your pace. I am flexible and I thrive on finding organic solutions to challenging clinical situations. I have more than forty years experience working as an entrepreneur running my own businesses with many decades of life experiences. I also speak Hindi/Urdu, Kachi, Gujarati, Swahili and English. .

Personal Statement

I work with clients from all ages and backgrounds. My work with charities involves young adults between the ages of ten and twenty-five years, most of whom are students. The nature of my work with them revolves around the challenges they face which mostly includes coping with the demands of being a student; exam stresses, assignment deadlines, being accepted in peer groups, managing disappointments and expectations, changes in home environments as well as in their personal relationships. The clients I work with in my private practice tend to be older and include couples with a wide range of issues including health concerns, children and family, work or personal relationship issues. Even the most resilient amongst us can sometimes find our coping skills overwhelmed and inadequate to deal with some challenges. This is something I provide help and support for. Initial assessments are important because they provide a focus for the work ahead and they are invaluable in identifying sources for underlying issues. In my sessions, I explore how clients use their defences to meet their daily challenges in the present and explore the parts they have scripted themselves through their narratives. These provide insights into how the coping mechanisms have evolve which helps to make changes in behaviours. Most clients require relatively little support and guidance to become empowered, Whilst others may require greater levels of help and support with longer term therapy.